Small walk to Divine Lands- Shreenathji, Mathura , Dwarka

It is said that you cannot go to the divine lands by your will, it can be possible only by god’s wish. I got so fortunate to visit these three places within span of ten months. The best part was that none of the trip was planned, it just happened to happen. This time I personally had some different spiritual experience so I wish to share my journey.

Shreenathji mandir

Shreenathji is also known as Nathdwara. It is located in Rajasthan. It is approximately 46kms from Udaipur city.

I belong to family who is strong devotee of Shri Krishna. So visiting Shreenathji  is our yearly routine since I was baby. I remember when I was kid I used to be excited to visit this place for toys, key-chains, and thandai (Shreenathji got best thandai). As a teen, I found it boring to visit same place again and again (P.S-I used to believe in god but I was not much of religious or spiritual person.) But as an adult things started changing (Finally…thank-you god).  I visited the place in the month of September, so atmosphere was good. There were mild rains so climate was pleasant.

The temple is overcrowded for all 365days. There are eight Darshana in a day starting from Mangla (when god wakes up) Shringar (when god gets ready) Gwal (when god is ready to take cattles for grazing) Rajbhog (lunch for god) Utthapan (when god wakes up after a nap) Bhog (fruits are served to god for satisfying hunger after nap) Sandhya and Shayan (sleep time for god). In every darshan, it feels like Shreenathji is blessing us in different forms. Though the temple is overcrowded, it feels fresh. It feels calm.

Along with darshan, the another peaceful beauty of the temple is Kamal chawk. I personally love sitting there. There are foot prints of Shreenathji on this Kamal chawk. The marbles are cool and the area around has walls printed with different pictures of Shreenathji. The Shreenathji temple is also famous for its gold and silver hand floor mill.

Mathura

This time I was visiting Vrajdham after the gap of 12years. I went there in the month of October which I feel is the best time to visit.  Vrajdham is the land where Shree Krishna had lived his childhood (baal lila). Vrajdham includes 84 kosh (i.e. 84 small villages). The literal meaning of kosh is treasure, thus, it is said vrajdham itself is part of heaven. It includes, Mathura, Gokul, Nandgau, Barsana, Jatipura, vrindavan and other amazing places. I can go on writing 15-20 min read whole separate article on Vrajdham but I will cut short here.

Aarti at vishraam gaat Mathura

The first thing that comes in my mind while thinking about vrajdham is Yamuna River. I personally am so fond of rivers, lakes, beaches etc so I loved being around Yamuna River. The morning view of Yamuna River is the best. The priests of all the various temples of  vrajdham perform aarti of Yamuna River. I went for Yamuna aarti in Mathura which was performed early morning at 5am and evening at 7pm. The aarti took place for 30 minutes. It used to be the best part of the day. I felt peace looking at the huge aarti. It felt like the light of fire was reaching my eyes and gratifying my heart. It gave some kind of energy of self belief and hopes. The yellow light spread all over through aarti diyas. The shower of flowers in Yamuna River looked so beautiful. The voice of large bells and claps created an aura of positivity. I used to sit at the bay of Yamuna and gaze the waters. It felt peaceful. It felt beautiful. It felt like my mind was meditating. This is the beauty of vrajdham, you don’t need to sit and calm your mind,  you feel calm every minute.   

Raman reti- Gokul
Yamuna river- Gokul

 Another best place I felt was Raman Reti. It is situated in Gokul. It is said to be playground of lord Krishna. The sand of this place is very smooth. The visitors here roll in the ground. I was feeling bit awkward initially to do so, but my grandmother insisted me to do, so even I tried. Trust me, it felt so amazing. The sand was cool and soft. The unique part is, this sand do not stick your body or hairs. So you don’t even need to dust yourself later. It is said that no one can take away even bit portion of sand from that place. Just walking on that sand for few minutes can make you feel wonderful.  The next place I would love to talk about is Barsana. While heading  to Radha mahal and Morkuti , which is located in Barsana, there is a whole long pass way which is between the slopes and jungles. It felt like tracking. The place was so between the natures. I am not sure but it seemed like mountains and jungles on the mountains all around.  We climbed for around 30min to reach Radha Mahal. I felt so tired and exhausted but once we reached the mahal, it turned out to be all worth the climb. It was so beautiful. And as it is on height, the breeze could touch our face and all the tiredness vanished. Next we went to Jatipura which is just 24kms  from Barsana. Jatipura is place where Govardhan parvat is located. I am sure all of us have heard story of how Shri Krishna saved vrijvasis from the heavy rains by sheltering them under Goverdhan parvat when Lord Indra got angry. This parvat has story behind it. Once, Rishi Pulatsya (grandson of Lord Brahma) requested Goverdhan parvat to come along with him to Kashi. Govardhan parvat agreed but kept condition that Rishi Pulatsya should lift him up and should keep him down directly to Kashi orelse he will settle on that land wherever he puts him down. While Rishi was walking carrying him, Parvat increased his weight in Jatipura so Rishi lost his balance had to put him down. By getting to know this tactic, Rishi cursed Goverdhan parvat that it will reduce its size equivalent to one mustard seed everyday. Since then, goverdhan parvat reduces its size everyday.

Prem Mandir- Vrindavan

Now lets talk about food and shopping. Alnong with being religious place, I’ll say Mathura has the best chaat I have ever ate. The best is aloo tikki and aloo chaat. What isn’t good in Mathura to eat? It has got amazing sweets, amazing golgappas, amazing chole bhature, amazing chole kulchas. Even the bhojnalays serve you with fresh healthy amazing” just like homemade food” thali. I remember I got 2kgs of sweets from Mathura for my family (4 people) and it got over just in 2days. Mathura got second best food in the country (For me Indore will always stay at 1stposition). Other then food, Mathura is also best for shopping of purses and bags and different varieties for your temple. I loved Janma Bhumi (Mathura) for shopping of bags and purses. The quality and material both are good. You can see varieties of stuff for temple, like boat for god, flower buckets for god, different varieties of clothes for god,  toys for god, decorations for temple, hanging piece for temple etc.

Dwarka Nagri (p.c- foramp05.wordpress.com)

Famously known as “Sone ki Nagri” Dwarka is the city which was created by Shri Krishna to save people of Mathura from King Jrasandh. Lord Krishna ruled as king in Dwarka. The palace of gold got sunk in Arabian sea after the death of Shri Krishna. I was personally going through a lot while this trip happened unexpectedly so since then my faith went from 100 to 1000 like how god exactly knows how to cure humans. Dhwarka is approximately 137kms from Jamnagaer.

If you want to read travel blog on Dwarka, follow “AMATEUR TRAVELER” (foramp05.wordpress.com). She has written in depth blog on Dwarka.

Dwarka mandir is 170feet tall, so you may say it is approximately 15floors tall. The reason behind me highlighting the height is story bebhind the temple flag. The temple flag (dhwajaji) is changed daily by climbing up the temple, which is too risky. I went lucky that I was able to watch this scene live. The good part is, there is no injury caused to anybody till today. The feeling of being blessed bounces when the dhwajaji is opened and it flies in the direction of air.  

Dwarka temple (p.c- foramp05.wordpress.com)

The second uniqueness about Dwarka temple is it still has Gurukal. Beside the main temple there is gurukul where the students are taught through the ancient methods of teaching. They are taught the similar subjects and with similar discipline which India followed before Britishers intervened in our culture. There is hostel facility too. Ofcourse, not to mention , Arabian sea takes beauty of Dwarka to another level.  

Bet Dwarka (p.c- foramp05.wordpress.com)
Dwarka (p.c- foramp05.wordpress.com)

9 thoughts on “Small walk to Divine Lands- Shreenathji, Mathura , Dwarka”

    1. What a lovely read! Thank you so much for a wonderful description….. i think my first trip post lockdown is now decided! Thanks Again! God bless

      Like

      1. Thankyou so much❤️ It is perfect trip after such pandemic situation in the country. Am sure you won’t be disappointed 😊. Happy journey in advance

        Like

  1. What a lovely read, Beta! I have been there to all the places you mentioned and your words brought back all the wonderful memories!
    May God bless you and make all your wishes come true.

    Like

Leave a comment