Mental Trip in Trekking

Almost after ages, I went for trekking to one of the beautiful place in Gujarat. For the first time in my life I went for day trip with all strangers, yes all strangers. Fortunately I grabbed an opportunity to meet new people, explore different mindsets and enthusiasm. Trekking is normal thing so I would not write blog on trekking but I am writing this blog to share minute details hitting me internally during this trip.

Not treating Sunday as Sunday, with all the preparations done, I left for trek early morning at 5:30 am. Reaching to the point, interacting with others and introducing myself to them I spoke this about myself- “Hi, I am Brinda. I am Lawyer and CS by Profession and I am currently working in blah blah field” and the reaction I got from almost everyone was, “Oh wow, that’s great.” 

These words forced me for an introspection within myself- (Me to Myself) 

“WTF Brinda, are you even Happy with your Profession?” 

Ans- No.

“Then why would you introduce yourself with that ????”

Ans- COZ THAT SOUNDS GOOD.

“Fair Reason?”

Ans- No.

“Is your Academics your Identity?” 

Ans- Nooooooo. I will never want that.

“Then why would you introduce yourself that way ????”

After the mini talk I had with myself, I allowed my tongue to coordinate with my head and speak again, “Well, Honestly it is not as wow as it sounds. Am generally drained off end of every day.” 

Most of the times we speak with the mind on what will sound more impressive rather what we intend to speak. But this is so much in our system that we lose control over our intentions and just speak in flow. 

While in base camp having breakfast and talking and observing 25-30 strangers I observed how every single personality was behaving differently. One being sweet talker, other being influencer, one being attention seeker, another being solemnly and one balancing being introvert and extrovert at the same time (ofcourse Me).  But one common thing amongst all, all seeking happiness. 

After the trek started and as everyone was climbing the hills I mean some crawling in humanly manner, some enjoying the nature, some left behind in selfiees and some struggling to ask others click their pictures, it felt like how slowly everyone were opening up to their self. 

After few hours, singing tired but in melody to climb high was fun. How unintentionally every stranger was helping every other stranger and motivating to keep going. From singing to being open enough to start dancing in between made me meet myself. How I did not even had single thought of being judged and be myself completely which lead to others too letting their feet flow. 

Lesson;- NO ONE ELSE IS JUDGING YOU EXCEPT YOU YOURSELF. 

After climbing for hours and looking around the beautiful view, I sat quiet and still all lost in the nature. All I was able to see, feel and sense was the beautiful scenery in front of my eyes, the cold sooth wind on my face and sounds of wind and light rains. I was able to feel the beauty from my eyes till my heart and soul. I was at peace. The peace I was missing unknowingly. The peace was all being in myself. I never knew the peace was within me. 

Lesson:- Spend sometime with yourself. You are the solution to your problems. 

Amongst 25-30 people, we were 6-7 people sitting silently and enjoying the beauty around (Others went to some spot to make reels and click pictures). In such silence, one guy started talking about how he had met a particular person whose passion was to sell momos on the mountains after leaving his IT job, reason being mountains and food gave him joy and satisfaction. We all were quietly listening. I never when did we started having deep life conversations from just being strangers. It felt so good. You experience people in such trips. 

Lesson- Move Out. You will attract like minded people. 

Now comes the toughest part of the whole trip…..”Stepping Down the mountain”. I was bit scared but even worst was, my legs had lost all strength. It was 2hrs or more trek to reach down the surface. The rains added the toughness. I somehow was managing to take small steps so that I don’t fall but eventually I did. Thanks to my rescue two people came and I did not slide. Later then, one of the group member was constantly helping me. After somewhile the guide came and the initial fellow left (ofcourse he was bit bored as I was taking long). Through out till I reached the base camp I had four people to my support simultaneously. I almost talked about career and personal life with all which was super fun. Everyone had different story to share. After some while I was all alone. I did not stop anywhere though, but as I wasn’t able to walk quick, I was alone. I kept on walking and waking , though without any energy and strength. That’s when I realized , “No matter how good people are, at some everyone will care about themselves and you have to take care of yourself. At some point you have to walk alone” (Sab apna apna dekhlo)  

YOU KNOW WHAT, TREKKING IS NOT ONLY PHYSICAL ACTIVITY BUT ALSO MENTAL ACTIVITY;

made some moments

lived few moments

realized some important aspects within moments

surrendered to moments

Leave a comment